A Michigan road on a fall day

Fair Lending and SAFE Act

It is the policy of Eastern Michigan Bank to comply with the letter and the spirit of all applicable state and federal consumer protection laws and regulation.

Fair Lending Policy Statement

The federal fair lending laws are a group of laws that prohibit discrimination in credit transactions, including transactions related to residential real estate. These laws include the Fair Housing Act, Equal Credit Opportunity Act, Community Reinvestment Act, and the Home Mortgage Disclosure Act.

In accordance with the fair lending laws, Eastern Michigan Bank is committed to promoting fair housing choice and will not discriminate against any person on the basis of any of the following:

  • race or color
  • national origin
  • religion
  • sex
  • sexual orientation
  • gender identity
  • marital or familial status
  • handicap
  • age*
  • receipt of income from a public assistance program.
  • applicant's exercise, in good faith, of any right under the Consumer Credit Protection Act
*Age is only a prohibited factor provided the applicant has the capacity to enter into a contract.

SAFE Act Registration

The Secure and Fair Enforcement for Mortgage Licensing Act (SAFE Act) is a federal law designed to enhance consumer protection and reduce fraud in the mortgage lending industry. The SAFE Act requires that all individual mortgage loan originators (MLOs) be registered with the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System and Registry (NMLS).

To access the NMLS and search for a specific MLO, go to: https://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org/